Photo from Facebook/Songwriters Hall of Fame

Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

The 2016 Songwriters Hall of Fame class may well have a classic rock flavor.

Among the nominees are George Harrison, Jimi Hendrix, Tom Petty, John Mellencamp, Steve Miller, Jeff Lynne, Sly Stone, former Doobie Brothers member Michael McDonald, Motown legend Marvin Gaye and Motown founder Berry Gordy, Jr.

Voting is taking place now among current Hall of Fame members, including Bob Seger, and the 2016 inductees will be announced on December 11, with a ceremony slated for June 9 in New York City.

Also nominated this year are Madonna, Debbie Harry and Chris Stein of Blondie, the Chic team of Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards, the Isley Brothers, Gloria Estefan and Roger Miller.

The Grateful Dead songwriting team of Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter and blues legend Willie Dixon were among this year's inductees.




Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.