Photo by Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images

2016 Grammy Hall Of Fame Recordings Announced

Albums by Bob Dylan, Fleetwood Mac and the Grateful Dead, as well as songs by Joe Cocker, Jimmy Buffett, The Zombies and others will be inducted into the 2016 Grammy Hall of Fame.

According to Recording Academy President Neil Portnow, the recordings "are an outstanding collection, marked by both historical and cultural significance. These works have influenced and inspired music fans for generations and we are proud to induct them into our catalogue of distinguished recordings."

The list includes The Basement Tapes by Dylan and The Band, Fleetwood Mac's self-titled 1976 album, the Dead's American Beauty, Randy Newman's self-titled 1968 debut album, the Zombies' "She's Not There," Cocker's "You Are So Beautiful," the Pretenders' self-titled debut album, Buffett's "Margaritaville," Joan Jett & the Blackhearts' "I Love Rock 'N Roll," Little Eva's "The Loco-Motion," Blondie's "Heart of Glass," the Sir Douglas Quintet's "She's About a Mover," James Brown and the Famous Flames' "Cold Sweat -- Part 1," John Lee Hooker's "Boom Boom" and Kool & the Gang's "Celebration."

They'll be joined by recordings by Miles Davis, Lead Belly, Louis Armstrong, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, John Coltrane, the O'Jays, Roberta Flack, Fats Domino, The Andrews Sisters, James Carr and Ella Fitzgerald.




Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.