Photo by Matt Cardy/Getty Images

New Asia Live Album Due Out June 24

Asia may be on hiatus while singer-bassist John Wetton is being treated for cancer, but fans will be able to get their fix via a "British Performance Series" live album coming June 24.

The vintage 13-track set was recorded during 1990 in Nottingham, England, while the all-star quartet was supporting its then-new "Then & Now" album, which was half greatest hits and half new songs. Original members Wetton, drummer Carl Palmer and keyboardist Geoff Downes were still in the band, with Pat Thrall having joined to replace Steve Howe on guitar.

Asia's last album, "Gravitas," came out in 2014, and Palmer tells us that the group's future is up in the air right now:

"Asia's been put on hold. Last may would've been a year since John found out he has cancer. The cancer has spread. He's got a couple of tumors now. It's under control...We're really just praying for him and hoping he comes through...But I do understand he's having problems with singing and things, so unless that's corrected we won't be able to do much at all."


Palmer is currently touring North America with his ELP Legacy band, presenting tribute shows to his late bandmate Keith Emerson.
The full track listing for the "British Performance Series" album includes:

  1. Wildest Dreams
  2. Sole Survivor
  3. Don’t Cry
  4. Voice Of America
  5. Time Again
  6. Praying For A Miravle
  7. The Smile Has Left Your Eyes
  8. Only Time Will Tell
  9. Days Like These
  10. The Heat Goes On
  11. Go
  12. Heat Of The Moment
  13. Open Your Eyes


Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.