GREENSBORO, NC - APRIL 12: Musicians Phil Lesh and Bob Weir perform during "An Evening With The Dead" on April 12, 2009 in Greensboro, North Carolina. (Photo by Sara D. Davis/Getty Images)

The Grateful Dead is reaching back to 1989 for its next archival release.

Robert F. Kennedy Stadium — Washington D.C. — July 12 & 13, 1989 features both shows, with Bruce Hornsby as part of the band.

In a statement, Dead archivist David Lemieux says that the D.C. stand “fell right in the middle of one of the best tours of the last 15 years of Grateful Dead performances…the start of a nine-month period of sustained excellence.”

He adds that the group’s Bob Weir regularly asks him for recordings from the 1989 tour as reference material for members of Dead & Co. and Ratdog to learn material.

The sequence of the release has not been revealed yet, but the setlists for the two D.C. shows included:


July 12th, 1989
“Touch Of Grey”
“New Minglewood Blues”
“Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo”
“Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues”
“Far From Me”
“Friend Of The Devil”
“Promised Land”
“Man Smart, Woman Smarter”
“Ship Of Fools”
“Estimated Prophet”
“Eyes Of The World”
“I Need A Miracle”
“Dear Mr. Fantasy”
“Black Peter”
“Turn On Your Love Light”
“Black Muddy River”

July 13th, 1989
“Hell In A Bucket”
“Cold Rain And Snow”
“Little Red Rooster”
“Tennessee Jed”
“Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again”
“To Lay Me Down”
“Let It Grow”
“He’s Gone”
“Looks Like Rain”
“Terrapin Station”

“I Will Take You Home”
“The Other One”
“Wharf Rat”
“Throwing Stones”
“Good Lovin'”
“U.S. Blues”


Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights