Photo by Mike Coppola/Getty Images

Yes Releasing New Live Album This November

In the wake of this year's Yestival tour, Yes will be releasing a new live album -- from its previous road trip.

Topographic Drama: Live Across America is due out November 24, featuring the 2016 tour lineup of 1980's Drama album in its entirety and sides one and four from 1973's Tales From Topographic Oceans, plus "Roundabout," "Starship Trooper," "And You And I" and "Heart Of The Sunrise." The cover was designed by longtime Yes artist Roger Dean.

While the repertoire was premiered during Yes' 2016 North American tour, the album was recorded during a 12-song return run back in February of this year. Tales, which featured just one long song on each of its four original vinyl sides, is one of Yes' most controversial albums, but guitarist Steve Howe tells us the group was happy to bring that material back to the stage:

"'Tales' is a wonderful thing to revisit, and no matter what anybody says -- even if they're from Yes -- their views about this record have to be seen in context with the love that people have for this, and for 'Drama,' in fact. So the combination of us doing probably the most two controversial albums together, it's been a roaring success."

Yes is currently on ice while Howe mourns the death of his son and fellow musician Virgil earlier this month, which forced the group to cut its Yestival run short. Yes returns to the stage March 13 in England to begin a 50th anniversary tour.

The full track list for Topographic Drama includes:

Disc 1

  1. Machine Messiah
  2. White Car
  3. Does It Really Happen?
  4. Into The Lens
  5. Run Through The Light
  6. Tempus Fugit
  7. And You And I - Close to the edge
  8. Heart Of The Sunrise - Fragile

Disc 2

  1. The Revealing Science Of God
  2. Leaves Of Green
  3. Ritual
  4. Roundabout
  5. Starship Trooper


Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.