The highly-anticipated T.Rex tribute album that’s been long in the works finally has a release date.

Per Variety, Angleheaded Hipster is due out September 4 and features a wide variety of artists including Elton John, U2, Joan Jett, Perry Farrell, Todd Rundgren, Kesha and Nick Cave, whose cover of “Cosmic Dancer” can be heard below.

Angleheaded Hipster was produced by Hal Willner, who passed away from COVID-19 on April 7. The project itself has been long in the works with first reports about its existence dating back to October 2018.

The release of Angleheaded Hipster this year is an appropriate tribute to the groundbreaking glam rock act who is part of the 2020 induction class of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. This year’s induction ceremony was originally slated to take place on May 2 but has been rescheduled to take place on Saturday, November 7. The induction ceremony will still be broadcast live on HBO from Cleveland’s Public Auditorium as previously announced. Other 2020 inductees include Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode, the Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, and the Notorious B.I.G.

Angleheaded Hipster – Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. Children Of The Revolution – Kesha
  2. Cosmic Dancer – Nick Cave
  3. Jeepster – Joan Jett
  4. Scenescof – Devendra Banhart
  5. Life’s A Gas – Lucinda Williams
  6. Solid Gold, Easy Action – Peaches
  7. Dawn Storm – BØRNS
  8. Hippy Gumbo – Beth Orton
  9. I Love To Boogie – King Khan
  10. Beltane Walk – Gaby Moreno
  11. Bang A Gong (Get It On) – U2 feat. Elton John
  12. Diamond Meadows – John Cameron Mitchell
  13. Ballrooms Of Mars – Emily Haines

Disc: 2
1. Main Man – By Father John Misty
2. Rock On – By Perry Farrell
3. The Street and Babe Shadow – By Elysian Fields
4. The Leopards – By Gavin Friday
5. Metal Guru – By Nena
6. Teenage Dream – By Marc Almond
7. Organ Blues – By Helga Davis
8. Planet Queen – By Todd Rundgren
9. Great Horse – By Jesse Harris
10. Mambo Sun – By Sean Lennon & Charlotte Kemp Muhl
11. Pilgrim’s Tale – By Victoria Williams & Julian Lennon
12. Bang a Gong (Get It On) [Reprise] – By David Johansen
13. She Was Born to Be My Unicorn / Ride a White Swan – By Maria McKee & Gavin Friday

GALLERY: Classic Images of Marc Bolan

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights

Sign me up for the 102.9 WMGK At Work Network email newsletter!

Join WMGK's At Work Network and get the latest rock news, exclusive presales, contests and more straight to you inbox.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.