Metallica is slowly unveiling previews to their massive 30th anniversary reissue of their classic self-titled album (aka: “The Black Album.”)

Four new track previews are now available of their hit single “Sad But True.” The first preview is of an alternate studio recording dubbed “Take 36 – February 5, 1991” that can be found on the “Rough & Alternate Mixes” part of the Remastered Deluxe Box Set.

The other three tracks are all covers of “Sad But True” from The Metallica Blacklist, an all-star covers album featuring over 50 different artists who provide their own takes on the tracks that make up Metallica. Below you can hear “Sad But True” by St. Vincent, Sam Fender and Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit. Each of these covers are now automatic downloads for anyone that pre-orders The Metallica Blacklist.

St. Vincent


Sam Fender


Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit

As previously reported, “The Black Album” reissue and The Metallica Blacklist come out on September 10, with both titles available for pre-order at The Metallica Blacklist also features Corey Taylor, Miley Cyrus, Elton John, Chris Stapleton, Volbeat, THE HU, Portugal. The Man, Mickey Guyton, Cage The Elephant and many more. Per the band’s website, “One hundred percent of the profits go to charity – 50% to our own All Within My Hands and 50% to a charity of each artist’s choice.”

Metallica’s “The Black Album” & 25 Other Albums That Turn 30 in 2021

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice.