Entertainment News

Entertainment News

Entertainment News

The Library of Congress has added 25 new titles to the National Film Registry and among them are films from the Star Wars and The Lord of the Rings franchises.

Per the Library of Congress, 1983’s Star Wars Episode VI — Return of the Jedi and 2001’s The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring.

The Library of Congress also notes, “The 2021 selections represent one of the most diverse classes of films to enter the registry, with movies dating back nearly 120 years and representing the work of Hollywood studios, independent filmmakers, documentarians, women directors, filmmakers of color, students and the silent era of film. The selections bring the number of films in the registry to 825, representing a portion of the 1.7 million films in the Library’s collections.”

Scroll through the list below to which other films have been added to the Library of Congress’ National Film Registry.

  • WALL•E (2008)

  • The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)

  • Selena (1997)

  • The Watermelon Woman (1996)

  • Who Killed Vincent Chin? (1987)

  • Stop Making Sense (1984)

  • A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

  • Star Wars Episode VI — Return of the Jedi (1983)

  • The Wobblies (1979)

  • Chicana (1979)

  • Richard Pryor: Live in Concert (1979)

  • Cooley High (1975)

  • The Long Goodbye (1973)

  • Sounder (1972)

  • The Murder of Fred Hampton (1971)

  • Requiem-29 (1970)

  • Evergreen (1965)

  • What Ever Happened to Baby Jane? (1962)

  • Strangers on a Train (1951)

  • Flowers and Trees (1932)

  • Hellbound Train (1930)

  • The Flying Ace (1926)

  • Jubilo (1919)

  • Ringling Brothers Parade Film (1902)

Sign me up for the 102.9 WMGK At Work Network email newsletter!

Join WMGK's At Work Network and get the latest rock news, exclusive presales, contests and more straight to you inbox.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.